5 Things I Wish I Could Tell My High School Self

Leave a comment

July 8, 2016 by 10 somethings

1. It is all worth it in the end. 

When I say this, I mean it quite literally. If you work hard in high school, you will most likely be attending a great college with other hard working students.

The literal part about this comes in terms of financial aid. Colleges want more bang out of their buck so if you work hard in high school, you will be “worth” more to them. Remember, hang in there.

2. Do not slack off. 

Do not be one of those students that your teachers use as an example of someone who slacked off freshman year. In fact, do not slack off EVER. Do not use the fact that you were not really trying in a specific course to be an excuse for why you did not do well in it. Instead, try in every class from your first day of class to your last day of class. Your GPA will be grateful.

3. Do not slack off but don’t forget to coordinate relaxing activities in your free time. 

Everybody has different ways to relax. Whether it’s through sports, reading, the arts, public speaking, watching tv, or simply spending time with friends, do not let your academic life ruin your peace of mind. Be the go getter that you are academically and take challenging courses but don’t forget to hit your favorite cafe over the weekend or play tennis at your favorite courts on occasion.

4. Only do activities that you are really interested. 

I was one of those students who overloaded myself with way too many extracurricular activities but looking back at it, I dreaded many of them. Although I had my fair share of enjoyable activities, I would go back and choose a select few activities and become really invested in them.

In terms of college admission, I think my dedication to those activities would impress colleges more than the fact that I was in a million clubs.

5. Do not be afraid to get out of your comfort zone. 

There are so many different ways to interpret this tip but I mean it in all of those ways.

Do not be afraid to get out of your safe zone in terms of social situations. There are so many people that I met that are outside of my friend group at school but I am still very close friends with. Meet new people.

Get out of your comfort zone in terms of your wardrobe. Experiment and find the style that you flatters you most and fits your personality best.

Don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone in terms of extracurricular activities or classes. Most of my favorite clubs are new interests, meaning that I developed them in high school. The reason that I developed those interests was because as an adventurous freshman, I decided to go to meetings where none of my friends were going. That was outside of my comfort zone.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Recent Comments

Categories